The Sweet Shop has been a well-known and well-loved part of college life at Florida State University since 1921.
Originally constructed in 1921 by Moses Demetree as a family home, the building was soon leased and converted in 1922 to business use by T. J. Hawes, who ran it as The Wisteria Tea Room for the ladies of FSCW.
The business was taken over in 1924 by the Frain family who renamed the little restaurant The Sweet Shop.
The Blount family took over as proprietors in 1926, and enlarged the business by joining the Jefferson Street structure to the duplex that was located behind it on Gray Street. The Blounts also added the architecturally out-of-character but kitschy front porch to expand seating in the 1940s. The Sweet Shop remained a Blount family business until 1978, when the last family member retired.
After the Mecca Grill was demolished a few years ago, The Sweet Shop is the only remaining iconic “Malt Shop” left on the university perimeter!